Jamie Bishop Award

Via Ahrvid på Skriva kommer ett tips på en engelsk essätävling:

From: Amy J. Ransom <ranso1aj@cmich.edu>
Subject: Jamie Bishop Award call for nominees

Dear Colleagues,
It will be a hard act to follow now that Rachel Heywood Ferreira has handed over the organization of the Jamie Bishop Award for non-English-language critical essays on the fantastic to me, but I count on your continued support and help in disseminating the call! Below please find the Call for Papers for the 10th annual Jamie Bishop Award. Please post in your publications and on your list-serves as appropriate and feel free to forward to any of your contacts to do the same.
Best regards,
Amy Ransom, Ph. D.
Professor of French
Central Michigan University

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts Announces its 10th annual Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a critical essay on the fantastic written in a language other than English. The IAFA defines the fantastic to include science fiction, folklore, and related genres in literature, drama, film, art and graphic design, and related disciplines. For more information on the award and on past winners, please see http://www.fantastic-arts.org/awards/jamie-bishop-memorial-award/  (please note the updated submission criteria, below).

Submission criteria:
·       Essays should be of high scholarly quality, as if for publication in an academic journal.
·       We consider essays from 3,000-10,000 words in length (including notes and bibliography).
·       Essays may be unpublished scholarship submitted by the author, or already published work nominated either by the author or another scholar (in which case the author’s permission should be obtained before submission).
·       Essays must have been written and (when applicable) published in the original language within the last three years prior to submission.
·       An abstract in English must accompany all submissions; an English translation of the title of the essay should also be included.
·       Only one essay per person may be submitted each year.
·       Submissions must be made electronically in Word format.

Deadline for submissions: September 1st

Prize: $250 U.S. and one year’s free membership in the IAFA to be awarded at the annual International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts held each March. Winning essays may be posted on the IAFA website in the original language and/or considered for publication in the Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts (http://www.fantastic-arts.org/jfa/) should they be translated into English.

Please direct all inquiries and submissions to:
Amy J. Ransom
Department of Foreign Languages, Literatures & Cultures
305 Pearce Hall
Central Michigan University
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859  USA

Rachel Haywood Ferreira
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Department of World Languages and Cultures
Iowa State University
3240 Pearson Hall
Ames, IA   50011-2205
Tel: (515) 294-4043

Det här inlägget postades i Skrivartävlingar och har märkts med etiketterna , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Lämna ett svar

Din e-postadress kommer inte publiceras. Obligatoriska fält är märkta *

Denna webbplats använder Akismet för att minska skräppost. Lär dig hur din kommentardata bearbetas.